Bullet journal

Bullet journal beginnings

My cousin recently told me that she’s getting really into the planner game, particularly with designing her own dividers for her Filofax and using washi tape to decorate pages. I got a bit excited that she’s getting crafty as she isn’t normally into kind of thing, so I did a bit of exploring in the world wide webs. In my travels I came across this phenomenon called Bullet Journaling – and I was hooked!

Being a former bookbinder, as well as a bit of a luddite, I was never really happy with using an app on my phone to keep track of events and what-not. But I also never wanted to spend a lot of money on a planner or diary. I would have been the type of shopper to only look in the bargain bin. It just never seemed worth it to get something really beautiful that I would just get rid of the next year, and I always told myself the phone app would do. But now that I’ve discovered the bullet journal all of that is about to change.

The thing that I really like about the bullet journal is that you can pretty much use any notebook to create one. Also, the flexibility and the ability to input practically any kind of page you want is pretty fabulous. But as a hobby bookbinder I have a lot of blank notebooks lying around that I didn’t know what to do with. One range in particular used images from old books for the covers and pages from discarded log books to make up the book block. I thought it was such a great idea at the time, and it looks good from the outside. Although honestly, coptic stitching makes anything look good! But the layout of the pages makes it really difficult to use. While it won’t be the prettiest thing, or even the most practical to use, I figured that bullet journaling would be a great way to make sure they don’t just gather dust.

Below is the one I’m using for my first attempt. I chose it because it’s my least favourite cover, as well as having one of the more unfriendly layouts inside (they’re all slightly different). Also, the first will probably be the messiest because I’ll still be figuring out what I like so how it looks matters the least. After this one is full, I have at least half a dozen more to populate and I do like the idea of having a matching set.

This is surprisingly important to me. I’ve spent a lot of time looking up other bullet journals and deciding what pages I want, what order they should go in and how they should be laid out. I even created templates for a couple of styles/elements I want to use/include, though I’m not sure how well they’ll work.

Pretty sure I’ve done all the planning I can though. Time to create the actual thing…

One thought on “Bullet journal beginnings

Leave a Reply

