Knitting

Tubular troubles

After knitting the sweater for my godson, I got very excited about starting another project. As you may have seen in my Knitter’s Log, there a whole host of things that I want to knit. But the ones that I have started and am most excited about are the matching bear beanie’s for my godson and his adorable baby brother who I recently met for the first time. Mind you, he’s only a few months old so I guess I hadn’t really missed out on too much.

Anyway, my godson has this cute jumper with a dog’s face on it where the ears are sewn on flaps. He loves it, and he’s in his animal phase at the moment, so I thought it would be fun to knit him an animal beanie. My preference would have been an elephant as it’s one of his favourite animals but I couldn’t find one I liked. There are some really nice ones out there but I didn’t want to have to stuff a trunk and add things to make it stand up properly. So after trawling through the internet, this Polar Bear Hat from Red Heart caught my eye.

It didn’t take me too long to knit the first beanie and the bits and pieces to make up the bear’s face. You can see from my colour choices that these ones won’t specifically be polar bears.

Before starting I had decided that I would cast on using the tubular method. This turned out to be more of a struggle than I had anticipated because the pattern calls for an odd number of stitches to be cast on. The tutorial I followed worked with an even number of stitches and I completely confused myself and overcomplicated the process trying to work it out.

I had thought that the cast on edge for the first beanie didn’t look quite right but I wasn’t familiar enough with this method that I just assumed that it was correct. Unfortunately, you can see in the images below that it was completely wrong. In re-figuring out how the tubular method works for the second beanie I found the right way and now know the right look.

img_4072
Tubular cast on – the wrong way (top) and the right way (bottom)

The main point that I had discovered in working the tubular cast on, which is very obvious now and I feel as though I ought to have realised, is that it is designed for a rib and should therefore be worked in rib. Duh! So essentially, knit into knit stitches and slip purl-wise the purl stitches. It is so obvious!

Here are a few more shots of the correct tubular cast on. You can see it with the waste yarn still attached, being removed, and fully removed. See how nicely it sits front and back when done properly?

I am so unhappy with the first beanie now that I will probably recreate it, though I’m not sure what I’ll do with the dud one…

Leave a Reply

